30 Day Challenge

What makes it a ‘Classic?’ – 30 Day Disney Challenge: Day 16

Today begs the unavoidable questions: what makes a Disney movie “Classic”?

Is it the older form of animation, all done by hand?

Or perhaps it requires it to be a musical, with at least three or four big numbers.

Must it be a princess movie, or can the dudes and families rule, too?

Left without a clear idea, I turned to one of my trusted sources:

Wikipedia.

No, really, it’s rather reliable when it comes to films and fandoms.  Trust me, if you post something incorrectly on one of these pages, a mega-fan has already seen it and probably started a petition to make it right.

Beware the Supernatural fans on tumblr.  They have a gif for everything.
Beware the Supernatural fans on tumblr. They have a gif for everything.  No, really, they do.  Google it.

So according to this Wikipedia page, a Disney classic is defined as “a brand name used by Walt Disney Home Video on their American, Japanese, European, and Australian home video releases of Disney animated features” between 1984 and 1994.

Remember this magical little image?

classics 1

Or this one?

classics 2
No? Then don’t you DARE call yourself a 90’s kid.

So it will be from this list of Disney releases that I will choose my favorite Disney classic film.

Even though one look at this list makes me say “OMG I like almost all of them!”

Honorable Mentions:

Fantasia

Did you know the Sorcerer's name is Yesnid?  It's "Disney" spelled backwards.
Did you know the Sorcerer’s name is Yesnid? It’s “Disney” spelled backwards.

This movie will also get a mention in the upcoming “most underrated” category. 

Sure, you’ve probably heard of Fantasia 2000–it was released on DVD and VHS, how exciting!!!!!   

(Oops, my 90’s was showing there…)

Those were the days, when all of this cute pastel stuff made perfect sense.
Those were the days, when all of this cute pastel stuff made perfect sense.

But the movies and music of the original Fantasia has stayed with me since I was little.  As children, it soothed my little sister and myself to sleep on sick days and after bad dreams.

Apparently, the devil didn't creep me out as a child.  I find this scene gets creepier at the same rate I get older.
Apparently, the devil didn’t creep me out as a child. I find this scene gets creepier at the same rate I get older.
Fun fact: Creepy-demon-guy's name is Chernabog.
Fun fact: Creepy-demon-guy’s name is Chernabog.

Robin Hood

The nicest outlaw you'll ever meet.
The nicest outlaw you’ll ever meet.

Oh Robin.  You are a foxy-fox.  And I haven’t yet met a Robin Hood I didn’t like.

Really, none.  I didn't even mind Russell Crowe.
Really, none. I didn’t even mind Russell Crowe.

Lady and the Tramp

Puppies, romance, and sweet music! What’s not to like?

Absolute, hands-down, favorite according-to-wikipedia’s-list Classic:

Beauty & the Beast

After all, it is a tale as old as time!
After all, it is a tale as old as time!

Yup, it’s old enough to be a classic!  Were this movie an adult in the USA, it could smoke, drink, and do anything but drive a rental car at the normal price.

Leave a Reply

