Outside of Ariel's Grotto.
30 Day Challenge, Autism, Music

Music, Autism & a Favorite Song – 30 Day Disney Challenge: Day 10

There is a very important blogging lesson I have learned: when one takes on a challenge that is supposed to have you “do ____ for _____ number of days, all in a row, and don’t skip a day!…” you’re going to skip days.  Whether it’s been an exercise challenge, a writing challenge, anything, there will be days that you have to skip, for one reason or another (like, say, road trips that take all day, National Novel Writing Month, or Thanksgiving turkeys that are completely frozen even though they’ve been thawing for two extra days… to be completely non-specific, of course).

But enough about why this 30 Day challenge is turning out to be a 2 Month challenge!  Let’s go on to the hardest question on this list:

Favorite Disney Song

I know a lot of people who would not have a hard time with this question.  Thank goodness there are four categories of songs in this challenge, so I can whittle my list down a little bit.  But here’s just a tiny bit about my life, so you can understand my dilemma.

I grew up listening to and watching almost every Disney sing-along video cassette that was ever made.

I'm old enough to say that these videos here have the "new" style of covers.
I’m old enough to say that these videos here have the “new” style of covers.

As far back as I can remember, my little sister has had rather severe autism.  Growing up, Disney movies made her happy, but I believe that back then, it had more to do with the music than with the stories.  My sister would watch these sing-along videos over and over and over again, which wasn’t a problem in my mind.  I got to listen to awesome songs every day!  As my sister has gotten older, she definitely has a better appreciation for the stories in Disney movies–she will even sit through all of Mary Poppins, which sometimes is even too long for me, and laughs at the right moments during the movies!  Of course, she still watches the sing-along videos, only now she hums along with the words instead of just rocking back and forth to the music.

So not only did I listen to Disney movies and sing-along videos a LOT while I was growing up, I also am a singer and a pianist.  So of course, I have the song books for my favorite Disney movies, and practice the scores as much, if not more, than my classical lessons books.  (Oops.  Not sorry.)

All of this is just my way of saying:

Yeah, I have a lot of beloved Disney songs memorized entirely, and I don’t know how on earth I can pick a favorite.

I know exactly what song will fit in the Villain song category, and the least-favorite song category… those are easy!

But one overall favorite?  That’s just asking SO much.  But I will try.

Honorable Mentions

Out There-Hunchback of Notre Dame

"Won't resent, won't despair, old and bent, I won't care!  I'll have spent one day out there."
“Won’t resent, won’t despair, old and bent, I won’t care! I’ll have spent one day out there.”

I have a special relationship with this song.  Even singing it, I usually can’t get through it without getting teary-eyed, but that is a post for another time.  How can you not love Quasimodo’s quest for a day of being accepted as normal?

Beauty and the Beast-Title Song

"Tale as old a time, song as old as rhyme: Beauty and the Beast."
“Bittersweet and strange, finding you can change, learning you were wrong.  Certain as the sun rising in the east, tale as old as time, song as old as rhyme, Beauty and the Beast.”

This song gets an honorary mention because it was the epitome of love songs during my childhood.  Seeing the happiness on Beast’s face during their dance?  Priceless.

You’ll Be In My Heart-Tarzan

"Come stop your crying, it'll be alright.  Just take my hand, hold it tight."
“Come stop your crying, it’ll be alright. Just take my hand, hold it tight.”

This was my husband’s mother/son dance at our wedding. His mom managed to hold it together much better than I would have!  (Sidenote: The Phil Collins version is the best version.  More words.)

As Long as There’s Christmas: Beauty and the Beast~Enchanted Christmas

"As long as there's Christmas, I truly believe that hope is the greatest of the gifts we receive."
“As long as there’s Christmas, I truly believe that hope is the greatest of the gifts we receive.”

So most of you read that and went: “Say whaaat?”

Yup, one of my favorite Disney songs is from a direct-to-video sequel.  Because, despite the not-as-good quality of the animation, this movie is amazing, detailing a space in time during the months in which Belle and Beast fall in love (because she was there for an entire winter, remember?  She’s the princess who didn’t fall in love with the first guy she met.) Take the time to watch this video of the song.  I promise, you’ll feel warm and fuzzy afterwards.

Favorite Song Winners

Yup, I’ve got two faves.

# 1. I See the Light-Tangled

My absolute favorite Disney song, my husband and I used it for our first dance at our wedding.

Never has a sequence been more beautiful in a Disney movie.  And to combine finding your dream and a love song?  Win-win.

"All at once, everything looks different, now that I see you."
“All at once, everything looks different, now that I see you.”

And now our runner-up:

#2. If I Never Knew You-Pocahontas

By now you are saying, “Wow, this chick really likes obscure Disney songs.  What the heck.”

And yes, yes I do.

This song made number two on my list not only because I really like it, but also because it is so good that I want everybody to know that this song exists.

Do you remember that weird pop song during the credits in Pocahontas?  Well, that is this song, and it was meant to happen when Pocahontas visits John Smith while he is imprisoned by her tribe.  So if you ever thought that scene was really short, it was.   It was supposed to be about two minutes longer.  Luckily for us, the movie was re-released, with the scene fully animated, in 2005.  Unluckily for me, I was not an adult with spending money, so I am still on the hunt for a version of Pocahontas that has the entire scene.  Until then, at least I have youtube.

What’s your favorite Disney Song?

Leave a Reply

